Rules

photo-1439192762818-e56f8ea12296

you know
I must confess
when I followed the rules
my life was a mess

see I didn’t know
how to be me
I copied the template
of who I should be

no-one told me
I would end in a tangle
losing my own
individual angle

it took me a while
to see my mistake
to pull away from the crowd
almost too late

filtered through
my lens of perception
I no longer commit
such deep deception

now that I’m older
and so much bolder
I am the me
I was always meant to be

 

Photo by Olga Filonenko @ Unsplash

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

